ICC Announced Match Officials for the T20 World Cup 2024

ICC Announced Match Officials for the T20 World Cup 2024

The International Cricket Council (ICC) unveiled the list of the Match officials that includes 20 umpires and 6 match referees, featuring a total of 55 matches over 28 days for the T20 World Cup 2024.

Shahid Saikat will make history for Bangladesh by officiating the first game of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on June 1 between the United States and Canada.

Saikat will be the first Bangladeshi umpire to referee in any T20 World Cup. He has officiated five matches in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 and served on the panel for two ICC Women’s Cricket World Cups and the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2018.

Richard Illingworth, the reigning and three-time recipient of the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year, will accompany Saikat to the first match. The match referee for the tournament opening will be Richie Richardson, with Sam Nogajski serving as the TV umpire and Langton Rusere as the fourth.

In addition to Nogajski, four additional officials, Rashid Riaz, Jayaraman Madanagopal, Allahudien Paleker, and Asif Yaqoob, will make their senior men’s tournament debut next month.

Match Officials and Umpires List: T20 World Cup 2024

Chris Brown, Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Allahudien Paleker, Richard Kettleborough, Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon, Sam Nogajski, Ahsan Raza, Rashid Riaz, Paul Reiffel, Langton Rusere, Shahid Saikat, Rodney Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson and Asif Yaqoob.

  • Match Referees: David Boon, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andrew Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath.

The list of umpires includes some of the most respected names in cricket officiating, with last year’s recipient of the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year, Richard Illingworth, leading the pack. Illingworth is joined by stalwarts such as Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney, and Paul Reiffel, all of whom played pivotal roles in the Final of the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 between England and Pakistan.

The team of match referees is equally impressive, with Ranjan Madugalle, who officiated the 2022 Final, at the helm. Jeff Crowe, the format’s most experienced referee, brings his wealth of knowledge to the tournament, having officiated in a record 175 T20Is. Andrew Pycroft, another esteemed member of the panel, is just one match away from achieving the milestone of 150 T20Is.

Also Read: T20 World Cup Anthem Song 2024

Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager – Cricket, expressed his satisfaction with the selection of match officials for this historic event, emphasizing their experience and consistent performances. With the T20 World Cup set to feature 20 teams and 55 matches played over 28 days, Khan highlighted the significance of assembling a strong team of officials to ensure the smooth running of the tournament.


As the excitement builds for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, the ICC extends its best wishes to the selected match officials. With their expertise and dedication, the officials are poised to deliver a world-class tournament experience for players, officials, and fans alike.